Women Photograph, an initiative launched in 2017 to elevated the voices of women and non-binary visual journalists, announced the recipients of its 2020 grants in conjunction with Nikon.

The Women Photograph + Nikon grants of $5,000 have been awarded to Gabriella N. Báez, Sahar Coston-Hardy, Peyton Fulford, Roopa Gogineni, and Sandra Mehl.

The Women Photograph + Getty Images Scholarship of $10,000 has been awarded to Tami Aftab.

Women Photograph said on its website that it had received nearly 1,300 applications from women and non-binary photographers around the world.

The winners were selected by panel of judges, including Gael Almeida of the National Geographic Society, independent photographer Jess Dugan, independent photographer Yagazie Emezi, Emily Jan of the Atlantic and Olivier Laurent of The Washington Post.

The Women Photograph + Getty Images Scholarship was awarded by judges Sandy Ciric of Getty Images, Sara Ickow of Women Photograph, Zahra Rasool of AJ Contrast and independent photographers Haruka Sakaguchi and Elias Williams.

Kenneth Dickerman of The Washington Post wrote an overview of the winners.